top of page

The Angel Alejandro by Alistair Cross- Book Review

Angel or Demon?

Naive and heart-stoppingly handsome, he calls himself Alejandro, and Madison O’Riley has no clue what to do with him. As they set out to recover his lost identity, Madison realizes the mysterious man who saved her life harbors deep, otherworldly secrets that will put her in grave danger.

The Devil is in the Details

Gremory Jones has something for everyone, and for a price, he’s willing to make a deal. Walking the streets in top hat and trench coat, he tempts the citizens with mysterious wares from his shiny black briefcase. But buyer beware: All sales are final - and fatal.

A Scorching New Terror Has Come to Town

The townspeople are changing in appalling ways and it's up to Madison - with the help of a psychic, a local priest, and the new chief of police - to help Alejandro unlock his forgotten powers before an unspeakable evil tears apart the fabric of existence ... and costs them their very souls …

*I received this book in exchange of an honest review*

I have never been into angels vs demons kind of books but the synopsis of this book caught my attention. I was instantly into the story from the first page which is very rare if I'm being honest. The storyline moved quickly and was packed with a lot of characters. However, it was well written so it didn't bother me. The ending was suspenseful and left the reader wanting to know more.

As the story progressed, the battle between good and evil became apparent within the town. I liked the concept of the devil (Gremory Jones) stealing dreams from people leaving them feeling empty and numb. It showed how important dreams, ambitions and purpose are to humans. Also, the story talked about the manifestation of evil and how one wrong action leads to another. This was apparent when most of the townspeople were "infected" by the evil disease. My only problem with the "disease" is that it makes it seem as if humans do not have a choice, once they catch the disease they have no choice but to act upon their animalistic urges. I personally disagree with this notion. However, I enjoyed the general message behind the story.

Moving on to my obvious favourite character in the story:Alejandro. So from the start we know Alejandro is an angel because of the title... DUH. It would've been more intriguing if the reader didn't know that though. Nevertheless, it was interesting seeing Alejandro and Madison trying to figure out his identity.

Alejandro is one of the purest characters I have ever read about. He is very naive and almost childlike which is a very refreshing characteristic in a main male character. I really liked the fact that he was vulnerable and looking for Madison's approval rather than the other way around.

My main issue with book was the amount of sexual scenes included. I understand that some of them were needed to show the effect of the disease on the town. However, I believe a lot of the scenes became repetitive and too vulgar. I personally don't enjoy scenes like that so it would have been helpful if a disclaimer was included.

P.S. My alejandro would smell of cinnamon

About the Author:

Alistair Cross' debut novel, The Crimson Corset, a vampiric tale of terror and seduction, was an immediate bestseller earning praise from veteran vampire-lit author, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, and New York Times bestseller, Jay Bonansinga, author of The Walking Dead series. In 2012, Alistair joined forces with international bestseller, Tamara Thorne, and as Thorne & Cross, they write - among other things - the successful Gothic series, The Ravencrest Saga. Their debut collaboration, The Cliffhouse Haunting, reached the bestseller’s list in its first week of release. They are currently at work on their next solo novels and a new collaborative project.

In 2014, Alistair and Tamara began the radio show, Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!, which has featured such guests as Charlaine Harris of the Southern Vampire Mysteries and basis of the HBO series True Blood, Jeff Lindsay, author of the Dexter novels, Jay Bonansinga of The Walking Dead series, Laurell K. Hamilton of the Anita Blake novels, Peter Atkins, screenwriter of HELLRAISER 2, 3, and 4, worldwide bestseller V.C. Andrews, and New York Times best sellers Preston & Child, Christopher Rice, and Christopher Moore.

Visit Alistair at: http://www.alistaircross.com

 

Hello beautiful people! So I know I have been away for ages. Honestly I wish I had an excuse other than the fact that I lacked motivation for the past few months. Obviously, I was still reading books, I just didn't feel like writing any reviews about them. I thought a lot about whether I wanted to continue with this blog or not. I discovered that writing makes me happy and that's why I will continue working on this blog. I may write a post soon about my thoughts on blogging so far. Bare with me! For my few loyal and amazing regular readers, thank you for sticking with me so far. I am very grateful. And if any of you are new bloggers like me, let me know in the comments how you deal with lack of motivation!

Love xx.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page