top of page

Different Walks by Taylor Hartshorn- Book Review


A stack of letters burned a hole in the box under Sage's bed for the past sixteen years. There wasn't a day she hadn't thought about them, just sitting there wastefully as she went about her high society life. They were letters from the only man she ever truly loved, Max; advising her to find him only when she recovered from a past that led her astray. Sage was only getting older, and the monotony of her life made that all the more prominent. If she were ever going to rekindle a lost love, there would be no better time to leave everything behind and rough it in the great outdoors. Crossing several state lines, she'd walk, unbeknownst to Max, however long and far it took to see him again. Meanwhile, Phoebe had become disinterested with everything that used to motivate her. Adolescent years were trying enough, but with a past so unclear to her, she'd cling to gaining popularity and ignorance to pass the time, until one day everything she thought she knew came tragically crashing into perspective. Many miles, several secrets and one reunion help the two women realize that sometimes it's not how far you go or what you experience, but the different walks that define the journey.

*I was provided with a copy of Different Walks by Taylor Hartshorn in exchange for an honest review*

What I Loved

  • Adventurous Vibes

Reading this book made me want to quit uni, leave everything behind and go on a road trip. Just reading about someone go through all this effort to be reunited with a loved one made me want to walk to my non-existent past lover. At first when I read that Sage will be walking the entire way, I thought this makes no sense, it's 2016 she does not have to walk! But the further she walked and interacted with people along her trip, the more sense it made to me. It is not about the means of travel, it's about the path you take. I also loved all the different people Sage met on her trip. My favourite was Melrose, aka the sweetest old woman ever.

  • Pace

This may sound weird but I felt like the pace of the story was tailored for me. There were times when I did not want Sage's adventures to end. I wanted her to keep on meeting new people and that's what she did. Other times I felt like it is time for something different, something not travel related. It was pretty weird that everytime I felt like the pace should change a bit it did. Moral of the story: this book is not boring, not too fast or too slow paced.

What I did not like as much

  • Sage

I hate it when I can not stand the main character. However, I just couldn't help it, I couldn't get myself to like her. At the beginning of the story, I was okay with her. She started out as a woman who found herself stuck in a lifestyle that is not meant for her and she decided to change this. She took matters into her own hands and transitioned into an independent woman. I genuinely appreciate this character development in the book. However, as the plotline started to come together by the end of the book, I realized how selfish Sage is. In order not to spoil the story, I will not say exactly why I think she is selfish, you will probably understand when you reach the end. Her actions are justified in the story, but in my opinion they should not be. Nevertheless, I cannot deny that her character changed for the better in a way towards the end of the book.

Favourite Character: Warner

Although we don't get to meet him until later in the book, he is definitely my favourite character. He is so sweet and thoughtful, you cannot help but love him.

Favourite Quotes

"Death was the worst bruise of all."

"You're never going to get to the other side without putting one foot ahead of the other"

Extras

Me when I read page 232 (eBook version):

I knew there was a plot twist coming I just did not know what will happen, you know..

P.s. I absolutely love the cover of this book. It visualizes the storyline perfectly and the colours stand out.

About the Author:

Taylor Hartshorn is a 24-year-old Pennsylvania native who currently resides in Atlanta, Georgia with her miniature Dachshund, Finn. Different Walks is her debut novel.

Find Taylor on: Facebook/ Goodreads

Comment below if you have read or plan to read different walks.

Until next time!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page