top of page

Confess by Colleen Hoover- Book Review


Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there's no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn't expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry. For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping some major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it. The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can't seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.

You will catch all the feels starting from page one in this book!

I found this book at Borders around six months ago and started reading it for a while and absolutely loved it. Unfortunately I couldn't buy it because I had gone on a shopping spree that day and my bank account was not happy at all. So when a friend of mine calls me and tells me she found the book I was ranting about in our local bookstore I was ecstatic. I bought it and finished it in literally one day. Yes, it is that gripping.

What I Loved

Realistic characters

Auburn and Owen have characteristics that are easy to believe because you can picture them existing in real life. Their struggles, flaws and mistakes are not far-fetched or exaggerated.

Creativity

From the beautiful cover to the paintings inside the book itself, the art is breathtaking. Even if you are not a very artistic person like myself, the paintings will urge you to contemplate and appreciate their meanings. Moreover, the words have an artistic vibe to them as well. The way Hoover uses words will make you feel every emotion deep within your bones.

Mysterious story

My favourite thing about this book is the mystery within the plotline. You only fully understand the story and how everything comes together in cohesion at the end. Some phrases and actions described early on in the story start to make sense towards the end.

What I didn't like as much

The one thing that made me so angry while reading the story is Trey's character. I do not want to spoil anything so I will only say this: if Trey was a real person I would enjoy punching him in the throat. I hope that gives you an idea of how angry he makes me.

Extras

Favourite quotes:

"Tonight, everyone's focus is on my art, but my focus is on her. She's the most interesting piece in this entire room."

"I'll love you forever, even when I can't"

Me while reading this book:

Favourite piece of art:

P.s The artist that painted the artwork in the book is called Danny O'connor. His instagram is (@artbydoc), check it out he is really good!

About the author

Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Slammed, This Girl, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, Losing Hope, Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, Maybe Not, and Confess. She lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys.

Till next time!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page