top of page

Tape by Steven Camden-Book Review


Record a voice and it lasts forever… In 1993, Ryan records a diary on an old tape. He talks about his mother’s death, about his dreams, about his love for a new girl at school who doesn’t even know he exists. In 2013, Ameliah moves in with her grandmother after her parents die. There, she finds a tape in the spare room. A tape with a boy’s voice on it – a voice she can’t quite hear, but which seems to be speaking to her. Ryan and Ameliah are connected by more than just a tape. This is their story.

Wow.. just Wow. This book is so uniquely structured.

I bought this book last year in a book exhibition mainly because of its beautiful cover. Yes, I judge books by their covers sometimes, Whoops. However, I am so glad I judged a book by its cover this time because it lead me to such a gripping story.

What I loved:

  • The Structure

How Ryan and Ameliah's tales came together so smoothly and connected perfectly was so incredible. The story would switch between what is happening with Ameliah and what is happening with Ryan in 2013 and 1993 respectively. I loved how I would be reading about a captivating event in Ryan's life and then the scene stops and Ameliah's life plays in my mind. All the unanswered questions from Ryan's scene would get answered through Ameliah's life. The connection is brilliant.

  • 90's References

Although I was born a couple of years after 1993, I still understood most of the references made about movies and songs during that time. It was refreshing and relatable. In addition, it was humor infused which makes it even better.

What I didn't like as much:

I have to say, the only thing I would change about the book is to add a little more action between Ameliah and the boy she meets. I will not mention his name to make it special when you guys read it. Although I think there was a reason the author left their story open for the imagination. Perhaps because Ameliah is only 13 and a lot can happen in her future.

Who do I recommend this for:

I recommend this book for anyone who is looking for a unique story that deals with love, friendship, family, loss and hope. Anyone could read this book and relate to it in one way or the other because it is full of various life aspects that we all experience at least once in our lives. Just like the author said, it is all about layers. Everyone will find a relatable layer in this book.

Extras:

Favourite Quotes

"You remember me asking you that? What she thought, in that last second?

You said she thought about me. You sat on my bed and you said that she thought about me and that she smiled. And I cried till I couldn't breathe."

"My mother used to say there's fire in our blood and it takes a lifetime to tame it."

My reaction when I read page 336 (Paperback version)

Listen to the introduction of the book by Steven Camden. It's marvellous.

P.s I really wanna buy It's About Love by Steven Camden now that I read this book. He is an amazing author!

About the Author

Steven Camden is a leading spoken-word poet, performing as Polarbear. He also writes radio plays, teaches storytelling in schools, and was a lead artist for The Ministry of Stories. TAPE is his first novel. When you read it, you will find this hard to believe.

So here it is, second review! Comment below if you have read Tape and what do you think about it. If you did read it, send me a picture, Gif or whatever that represents your reaction on page 336.

Later.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page